Province of Agrigento


The territory of the Province of Agrigento occupies the central- southern part of Sicily and spreads over an area of 3,041.169 sq km  (156 inhabitants per square kilometer).



The coastline extends for 136 kilometers from Porto Palo di Menfi to Falconara, from the Belice river to the Salso river . In the central part of the rovince   flows the  Platani river that runs through valleys and hills including the gysum plateau of the sulphur -mining region of Casteltermini, Comitini, Racalmuto, Grotte, Favara and Palma.
The population lives mainly near the sea. The most oulated towns, in fact, are located on the coastline. The capital city lies at the center of the province. To the west, Sciacca and to the east, Licata. The other most significant population centres are located in the mountainous area that includes the municialities of Bivona, Santo Stefano Quisquina, Cammarata - San Giovanni Gemini and inland, on the border with the province of Caltanissetta, in the hilly area that feeds the rivers Naro and Delia , around Canicatti. The type of  housing and the human settlement in the province of Agrigento has reached its current definition in the period of the Spanish vice-kingdom and the founding of new cities. The province of Agrigento has 43 municipalities and has a population of about 448,000 inhabitants. The economy is mainly based on agriculture, tourism and fishing.


The 43 municipalities in the province of Agrigento:  Agrigento, Alessandria della Rocca, Aragona, Bivona, Burgio, Calamonaci, Caltabellotta, Camastra, Cammarata, Campobello di Licata, Canicattì,Casteltermini,Castrofilippo, Cattolica Eraclea, Cianciana, Comitini, Favara, Grotte, Joppolo Giancaxio, Lampedusa e Linosa, Licata, Lucca Sicula, Menfi, Montallegro, Montevago, Naro, Palma di Montechiaro, Porto Empedocle, Racalmuto, Raffadali, Ravanusa, Realmonte, Ribera, Sambuca di Sicilia, San Biagio Platani, San Giovanni Gemini, Sant'Angelo Muxaro, Santa Elisabetta, Santa Margherita di Belice, Santo Stefano Quisquina, Sciacca, Siculiana, Villafranca Sicula ;